minicomics live 5–post 35 (page 7 inks)

garagesale-page7-inksPage 7 has a lot of good in it (lettering and wolves), one horrible mistake (Iowa’s mouth in the last panel), and a general greyness of composition that is just crying for a spotted black.  There are only two obvious places to put it– the covers of the books and somewhere in a hypothetical background in the last panel.  This is a poser.

I suppose this is a good a place as any to speculate about what shading, if any, I should apply to Iowa’s costume.  She’s wearing her usual T-shirt, V neck pullover, jeans and slip on shoes combo, in her usual plain colors.  I’ve (obviously) left it unshaded for now, but I’ve been mulling over how, if anything, I want to shade it.  I’m toying with a fairly fine hatch in the pullover and nothing else.  I have do something, or it will seem like Iowa is going to garage sales dressed all in white, which is hardly suited to her practical and sensible personality.

This entry was posted in comics and cartooning, minicomics live 5 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment